Shopping is exhausting!

Today was the counterbalance to yesterday, I have a cold starting and determined to go shopping we managed it, but it required lots of coffee/lunch/cake breaks. It reminds me I’m not quite fighting fit, 9 months of chemo takes its toll! I would not brave such an adventure alone and mum and dad are fab at stopping for a break before the next task in hand! But it’s not the shopathon we’re used to at John Lewis. I snoozed on the way back in the car!

Also the effort of shopping is not helped when the till assistant is jabbering on and puts the transaction through twice which then takes 10 minutes to rectify while she can’t believe it’s anything she’s done wrong, it makes me wonder whether it’s my fetching headwear that’s thrown her, then I’m reminded that no one ever asks about why I have no hair, I suppose we all presume alopecia or CANCER!!! Maybe it’s rude to ask? But you aren’t even approach by cancer survivors and they must be out there?? I’d happily tell people! I’ve coped all the way through as I have Hodgkins, the cancer you want if any, my prognosis has been fantastic from the start, till the odd hiccup. One lousy little gland that’s refused to be easy, finally it’s gone and I have rounded up all remaining treatment left and realise I possibly have very similar stats to those I started off with. I mentioned this to my Hudds consultant who agreed ‘lymphoma’s are very treatable’.

We Brits seem to fear cancer, where as the USA seem to adopt a real fighting attitude from what I can see. Websites selling ‘I kicked cancers ass’ t-shirts, bone marrow drives to sign up donors, the UK seems to focus on breast cancer and a pray it doesn’t happen to me attitude. Have a look at the number of ribbon colours available for every cancer, we just recognise that pink one! I’ve tried to find a pic, but can’t find the one with Hodgkin’s on, but google it!

Anyway if you would like to do something to help blood cancers, that won’t cost a penny, please consider donating blood or even sign up as a bone marrow donor (but age restrictions apply now under 30 only). I’ll write about blood transfusions another time!

2 thoughts on “Shopping is exhausting!

  1. Hi Lou, your blogs are amazing and it’s great you are documenting this. I have actually signed up to be a blood donor as I have rare blood type. Just awaiting next appointment. X x

Leave a comment